On 14.02.2019, the official starting signal was given for the joint project ProBot, the aim of which is to support small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in tapping the potential of innovative collaborating robots (so-called CoBots). CoBots are robots that can work directly with a human “in a team” without a safety fence in order to optimally support this person in the workflow. While previous industrial robots specialised in individual, pre-defined activities, CoBots can be adapted to new tasks with little effort and without special programming knowledge. These characteristics make them particularly interesting for medium-sized companies.

So far, however, SMEs have made little use of this potential, as they often lack the organizational and personnel capacities as well as process-accompanying planning and decision-making aids to identify, evaluate and implement deployment scenarios for CoBots.

This is where the research project ProBot comes in and develops a virtual diagnostic case in the sense of “helping people to help themselves”, which supports SMEs in the targeted evaluation and development of individual CoBot solutions consistently and systematically. The diagnostic case will contain detailed, easy-to-use and company-specific planning and decision aids, which will enable an exact analysis of the initial conditions and a well-founded assessment of the CoBot application variants.

The development of the diagnostic kit is carried out in close cooperation with SMEs from the manufacturing industry. The joint project ProBot is coordinated by the Institute of Ergonomics and Business Organization (ifab) of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology. The Institute for Learning and Innovation in Networks (ILIN) and the Institute for Robogistics are involved on the part of the Karlsruhe University of Applied Sciences – Technology and Economy. Technologically, the project is supported by the companies ArtiMinds Robotics GmbH and robodev GmbH. The following companies are involved as producing user SMEs: Leutron GmbH, Maus GmbH Modell- und Formenbau, RAUCH Landmaschinenfabrik GmbH, Schnorr GmbH. The transfer partners Institut für angewandte Arbeitswissenschaft e. V. contribute to the dissemination of the results. (ifaa) and Landesnetzwerk Mechatronik BW GmbH (LMBW).

The ProBot research project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the European Social Fund (ESF) as part of the “Future of Work” programme and is supported by the Karlsruhe Project Management Organisation (PTKA). The author is responsible for the content of this publication.

Further information on the project and the tasks of the ILIN can be found here: Project page ProBot

Am 14.02.2019 war der offizielle Startschuss für das Verbundprojekt ProBot, dessen Ziel darin besteht, kleine und mittlere Unternehmen (KMU) dabei zu unterstützen, die Potenziale von neuartigen kollaborierenden Robotern (sog. CoBots) zu erschließen. CoBots sind Roboter, die ohne Schutzzaun direkt mit einem Menschen „im Team“ zusammenarbeiten können, um diesen im Arbeitsablauf optimal zu unterstützen. Während bisherige Industrieroboter spezialisiert sind auf einzelne, vorab festgelegte Tätigkeiten, lassen sich CoBots mit wenig Aufwand und ohne spezielle Programmierkenntnisse auf neue Aufgaben anpassen. Diese Eigenschaften machen sie besonders interessant für Unternehmen aus dem Mittelstand.

Bislang nutzen KMU dieses Potenzial allerdings noch wenig aus, da es ihnen häufig an organisatorischen und personellen Kapazitäten sowie an prozessbegleitenden Planungs- und Entscheidungshilfen fehlt, um Einsatzszenarien für CoBots fundiert zu identifizieren, zu evaluieren und umzusetzen.

An diesem Punkt setzt das Forschungsprojekt ProBot an und entwickelt im Sinne der „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ einen virtuellen Diagnosekoffer, der KMU bei der gezielten Bewertung und Erarbeitung individueller CoBot-Lösungen durchgängig und systematisch unterstützt. Der Diagnosekoffer wird detaillierte, einfach anwendbare und firmenspezifisch anpassbare Planungs- und Entscheidungshilfen beinhalten, welche eine genaue Analyse der Ausgangsbedingungen und eine fundierte Abschätzung der CoBot-Einsatzvarianten ermöglichen.

Die Entwicklung des Diagnosekoffers erfolgt in enger Zusammenarbeit mit KMU aus der produzierenden Industrie. Das Verbundprojekt ProBot wird koordiniert vom Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft und Betriebsorganisation (ifab) des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie. Seitens der Hochschule Karlsruhe – Technik und Wirtschaft sind das Institut für Lernen und Innovation in Netzwerken (ILIN) sowie das Institut für Robogistics beteiligt. In technologischer Hinsicht wird das Projekt von den Firmen ArtiMinds Robotics GmbH und robodev GmbH unterstützt. Als produzierende Anwender-KMU sind folgende Firmen eingebunden: Leutron GmbH, Maus GmbH Modell- und Formenbau, RAUCH Landmaschinenfabrik GmbH, Schnorr GmbH. Zur Verbreitung der Ergebnisse tragen die Transferpartner Institut für angewandte Arbeitswissenschaft e. V. (ifaa) und Landesnetzwerk Mechatronik BW GmbH (LMBW) bei.

Das Forschungsprojekt ProBot wird im Rahmen des Programms „Zukunft der Arbeit“ vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) und dem Europäischen Sozialfonds (ESF) gefördert und vom Projektträger Karlsruhe (PTKA) betreut. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung liegt beim Autor.

Weitere Informationenn zum Projekt und zu den Aufgaben des ILIN finden Sie hier: Projektseite ProBot

Kontakt:
Dr.-Ing. Tobias Heine
| Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) |
Institut für Arbeitswissenschaft und Betriebsorganisation | Engler-Bunte-Ring 4 | 76131 Karlsruhe
Telefon: +49 721-608-4 4710 | tobias.heine@kit.edu | www.ifab.kit.edu

Bildquelle:
ArtiMinds Robotics GmbH