Digitalization and relocation behaviour in the German industry ­– trends and relations

AIM AND APPROACH

Goal of the analysis for the Association of German Engineers (Verein Detuscher Ingenieure VDI) is to answer the following questions in collaboration with Fraunhofer Institute for system and innovation research ISI:

  1. What is the status quo and extent of digitalisation of German industry’s value creation processes and what dynamics and trends can be seen currently?
  2. What kind of relation can be found between the level of digitalization and chosen, operational key performance indicators?
  3. How many and which companies have outsourced parts of their production to foreign countries between the years 2014 to 2015 and how many companies have moved parts of their production back to German locations in the same period?
  4. What kind of relation exists between the level of operational digitalization and the disposition to outsource the production to foreign countries or to move it back, respectively? Does a more intensive digitalization come along with less offshoring or more backshoring?

From the results, robust and communicable statements for the broad public will be deduced, consisting of to what extend digital technologies are already used in the German industry and which (expectably positive) relationshops exist with operational key performance indicators and the (expectably lower) inclination to offshoring. The most important findings are ought to be presented to the media and the public at different common press conferences in spring 2016.

EXPENSE AND TIME SCHEDULE

The amount of work aggregates to 4.25 man-months, accordingly 53,825 Euro plus VAT. The project starts on 10/01/2016 and ends presumably on 05/31/2017.

Digitalisierungs- und Verlagerungsverhalten in der deutschen Industrie – Trends und Zusammenhänge

ZIELSETZUNG UND VORGEHEN

Ziel der Analyse für den Verein Deutscher Ingenieure (VDI) ist es, gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI folgende Fragen zu analysieren:

  1. Welchen Stand bzw. Grad der Digitalisierung ihrer Wertschöpfungsprozesse hat die deutsche Industrie bereits erreicht und welche Dynamiken und Trends zeigen sich aktuell?
  2. Welcher Zusammenhang zeigt sich zwischen dem Grad der Digitalisierung und ausgewählten, betrieblichen Leistungskennziffern?
  3. Wie viele und welche Betriebe haben in den Jahren 2014 bis 2015 Teile ihrer Produktion ins Ausland verlagert und wie viele Betriebe haben im gleichen Zeitraum Teile ihrer Produktion wieder an den deutschen Standort zurückverlagert?
  4. Welcher Zusammenhang zeigt sich zwischen dem Grad der betrieblichen Digitalisierung und der Neigung zu Produktionsverlagerungen ins Ausland bzw. Rückverlagerungen aus dem Ausland? Geht eine intensivere Digitalisierung mit weniger Auslandsverlagerungen oder mehr Rückverlagerungen einher?

Aus den Analyseergebnissen werden belastbare und einer breiten Öffentlichkeit kommunizierbare Aussagen abgeleitet, inwieweit digitale Technologien bereits in der deutschen Industrie angewandt werden und welche (erwartungsgemäß positiven) Zusammenhänge mit betrieblichen Leistungskennziffern und der (erwartungsgemäß geringeren) Neigung zu Produktionsverlagerungen ins Ausland bestehen. Die wichtigsten Erkenntnisse sollen dann auf verschiedenen, gemeinsamen Pressekonferenz im Frühjahr 2016 den eingeladenen Medienvertretern und der Öffentlichkeit präsentiert werden.

AUFWAND UND ZEITPLAN

Der Arbeitsaufwand beläuft sich insgesamt auf 4,25 Personenmonate, entsprechend 53.825 Euro zzgl. MwSt. Das Projekt beginnt zum 1.10.2016 und endet voraussichtlich am 31.5.2017.